Date: 22nd March 2007 at 6:36pm
Written by:

The SPL after split fixtures have been announced today and they have conjured up some seriously interesting ties.

As well as the potential relegation decider between St. Mirren and Dunfermline being shown on Setanta on Monday 30th of April, there is also the potential Champions League playoff between Aberdeen and Rangers on the last day of the season. That match will be at Pittodrie on Sunday 20th of May.

Lets hope the Dons are still in contention by then as it will provide a grandstand finish to the season and a chance to reverse the Ibrox defeat the Dons endured on the last day of the 90-91 season which kept the title in Rangers hands instead of returning north with Alex Smith`s team.

A very hard pill to swallow so this would be a great chance for some revenge and should at least give Jimmy`s men a target to aim for; to try and make the match on the last day significant and to potentially be able to claim the second spot in the Champions League.

The Dons will also host CIS Cup winners Hibs and the other finalists Killie but will have to travel to Tynecastle and Celtic Park. All things considered, I think Jimmy will be quite pleased with how the fixtures have been arranged for his side with 3 home matches and 2 away.



Saturday 21 April

Aberdeen v Hibernian 1230BST (Live TV)

Dunfermline Athletic v Dundee United

Inverness CT v Motherwell

Rangers v Hearts

Sunday 22 April

Kilmarnock v Celtic 1400BST (Live Tv)

Monday 23 April

Falkirk v St Mirren 1945BST (Live TV)

Saturday 28 April

Dundee United v Inverness CT

Motherwell v Falkirk

Aberdeen v Kilmarnock

Hibernian v Rangers

Sunday 29 April

eltic v Hearts 1400BST (Live TV)

Monday 30 April

t Mirren v Dunfermline Ath 1945BST (Live TV)

Saturday 05 May

Rangers v Celtic 1230BST (Live TV)

Dundee United v St Mirren

Falkirk v Inverness CT

Hibernian v Kilmarnock

Sunday 06 May

Hearts v Aberdeen 1400BST (Live TV)

Monday 07 May

Dunfermline Ath v Motherwell 1945BST (Live TV)

Saturday 12 May

Falkirk v Dundee United

Inverness CT v Dunfermline Ath

Motherwell v St Mirren

Hearts v Hibernian 1230BST (Live TV)

Celtic v Aberdeen

Sunday 13 May

Rangers v Kilmarnock 1400 (Live TV)

Saturday 19 May

Dundee United v Motherwell 1300BST

Dunfermline Ath v Falkirk 1300BST

St Mirren v Inverness CT 1300BST

Sunday 20 May

Aberdeen v Rangers 1400BST

Hibernian v Celtic 1400BST

Kilmarnock v Hearts