Date: 28th May 2009 at 10:42pm
Written by:

I have drawn up a shortlist of candidates for this year`s title and a poll has been added to allow Vital Aberdeen`s readers to have their say.

a) Mark Kerr

Signed on a free in the summer, Kerr has been a regular in the Aberdeen engine room. His grit ensures he is well regarded among the fans while there are no questions over his consistency. Kerr has played 31 of Aberdeen`s 38 games this season and has turned in some fine performances.

b) Jamie Langfield

The Aberdeen keeper has had a good season; his performances have ensured Bossu has had little chance in the first team. The stopper is on the fringes of International recognition after cutting out errors and turning out some fine displays leading to an impressive 14 clean sheets in the SPL. This was enough for Langfield to pick up the official AFC player of the year.

c) Scott Severin

Despite criticism at times, Severin has had a good season. In the last few games he has shown his worth. His experience has been vital on occasion and if he moves on he will be sadly missed. He yesterday won the Evening Express player of the year award.

d) Lee Miller

Perhaps not as good as last season but Miller has still been vital in Aberdeen`s European qualification this year, scoring 12 goals in 32 appearances. He is undoubtedly Aberdeen`s most effective frontman.

e) Sone Aluko

The young Englishman has continued to impress this season, after he made his loan move permanent last summer. He frequently was the one to unlock defences and always seemed to look dangerous.

f) Zander Diamond
The big defender has the makings of a future captain. This season has been a good one for him as he has played a huge part in Aberdeen`s 14 clean sheets.

Vote for your winner on the poll ……………………………