Date: 25th January 2007 at 6:00pm
Written by:

Karim Touzani, Gary Dempsey and Andrew Considine appear set to join Darren Mackie in signing new Aberdeen deals.

Striker Mackie announced last week that he was staying on for two more years.

And Dons football director Willie Miller told the Evening Express: ‘We expect talks with all four to reach a successful conclusion very quickly now.

‘It was refreshing to see all four players putting the chance to play for Aberdeen ahead of pushing for extra money we can’t afford.’

Jimmy will be glad all players have signed as Dempsey and Considine have been regulars in his recent 1st team selections. Touzani has been very unlucky with injuries but is clearly rated by Calderwood and should be back to challenge for a first team place in the defence shortly.

On the otherside, no doubt the players will have been glad to have been offered contracts that give a certain security in todays cut-throat game.

Calderwood is obviously trying to build a team that will stay together and grow as they play more with each other and the fact the players didn’t go chasing other clubs or haggle with wages shows that the squad seems happy and share the same ambitions as the manager and fans.

In further testament to the progress being made at Pittodrie; Aberdeen youngsters Andrew Considine, Andrew Bagshaw and Chris Maguire have been called up by Scotland.

Considine is in the under-21 squad for the friendly international against Germany at Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld, on Tuesday, February 6, while Maguire and Bagshaw are in Archie Knox’s under-19 squad for the La Manga tournament in Spain at the beginning of next month.

In the La Manga tournament Scotland under-19s will face Austria on Sunday, February 4, followed by Slovakia and Norway later in the week.

SCOTLAND UNDER-21 SQUAD – Goalkeepers: Jamie MacDonald (Heart of Midlothian), Andrew McNeil (Hibernian). Defenders: Andrew Considine (Aberdeen), Scott Cuthbert (Celtic), Garry Kenneth (Dundee United), Alan Lowing (Rangers), Mark Reynolds (Motherwell), Greg Ross (Dunfermline Athletic), Lee Wallace (Heart of Midlothian). Midfielders: Jamie Adams (Kilmarnock), Greg Cameron (Dundee United), Ryan Conroy (Celtic), Marc Fitzpatrick (Motherwell), Michael McGlinchey (Celtic), Charles Mulgrew (Wolverhampton), Rocco Quinn (Celtic). Forwards: Calum Elliot (Heart of Midlothian), Steven Fletcher (Hibernian), Steven Naismith (Kilmarnock), David Robertson (Dundee United)

UNDER-19 SQUAD – Goalkeepers: Alan Martin (Motherwell), Scott Murray (Dundee). Defenders: Andrew Cave-Brown (Norwich City), Darren McCormack (Hibernian), Alex Pearce (Reading), Thomas Scobbie (Falkirk), Andrew Shinnie (Rangers), Blair Tolmie (Hibernian). Midfielders: Scott Arfield (Falkirk), Simon Ferry (Celtic), Ryan Flynn (Liverpool), Steven Lennon (Rangers), Stephen McGinn (St Mirren), Sean Mackle (Heart of Midlothian), Mark Millar (Celtic). Forwards: Andrew Bagshaw (Aberdeen), David Goodwillie (Dundee United), David Gray (Manchester United), Rory Loy (Rangers), Chris Maguire (Aberdeen), Fraser McLaren (Gretna), Steven Weir (Livingston)