Date: 27th May 2016 at 7:31pm
Written by:

Aberdeen are represented in the Scottish Professional Football League Premiership team of the season that has been selected after the end of the current campaign.

The best eleven was selected by Craig Fowler.

With Aberdeen taking second spot in the top flight in the 2015/16 campaign, three players find themselves in the final selection as we draw the curtain down on the season.

The performances by Shay Logan, Graeme Shinnie and Jonny Hayes all see them acknowledged in the final eleven.

Explaining the choice, Fowler said.


‘There wasn’t a lot of great play from right backs this year – and tremendous play from one particular left-back, therefore necessitating the inclusion of both – so Logan almost takes this default. In fairness, after a rough opening couple of months by his standards, he really came on to a game in the second half of the campaign.’


‘Shinnie spent some time at left back but it was in the centre of the park where he showed his versatility. His energy and ability to drift to the ball wherever it was made him an asset both in defence and helping to launch Aberdeen attacks.’


‘Coming off a strong 2014/15 campaign, Hayes somehow got even better as his pace, strong running ability and wicked cross, from either foot, made him a complete nightmare for opposing defences.’

The full team selected was:

Jamie MacDonald (Kilmarnock), Shay Logan (Aberdeen), Andrew Davies (Ross County), Igor Rossi (Hearts), Kieran Tierney (Celtic), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen), Tom Rogic (Celtic), Arnaud Djoum (Hearts), Jonny Hayes (Aberdeen), Leigh Griffiths (Celtic), Kane Hemmings (Dundee).

aberdeen Bloggers

Join The Vital Debate