Date: 7th August 2008 at 3:27pm
Written by:

I know it’s sad when there’s so little to talk about that I’m reading into squad numbers. But anyway, the squad numbers have been released, and I’ve a feeling a few people I’ve seen walking round town with already printed shirts will be demanding a refund.

1 Jamie Langfield

2 Charlie Mulgrew

3 Richard Foster

4 Gary McDonald

5 Zander Diamond

6 Scott Severin

7 Jamie Smith

8 Mark Kerr

9 Lee Miller

10 Darren Mackie

12 Red Army

14 Derek Young

16 Stuart Duff

17 Jeffrey de Visscher

18 Lee Mair

19 Chris Maguire

20 Bertrand Bossu

21 Andrew Considine

23 Sammy Stewart

24 Michael Paton

25 Stuart Smith

26 Peter Pawlett

27 Jonathan Crawford

30 John Bateman

Jamie Langfield has unsurprisingly been handed the #1 shirt as the number one choice goalkeeper.

Ricky Foster has been handed what in the old days would have been a first choice defender’s shirt, ahead of the likes of Stuart Duff (who I know is not a defender but is played there), but I hope that doesn’t apply in this instance.

Lee Miller has been given the number 9, although I have seen many people walking around with last season’s number 16 on this season’s shirt. Miller must therefore be classed as the first choice striker.

Number 11 has been left free, I’d guess for signing-to-be Tommy Wright.

The Red Army has been applicated the number 12 yet again, a tradition.

Jeffrey De Visscher has been given his weight in stone.

And Chris Maguire has been moved up to number 19, which is likely to be the total number of shots he has this season.